Travel Ban & Waiver


Proclamation 9645

On September 24, 2017, President Trump announced through Presidential Proclamation 9645 his third version of a travel ban, commonly known as Travel Ban 3.0. By its terms, the Proclamation imposes country specific restrictions on nationals from eight countries: Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen and Somalia. 

However, this does not completely close the door on receiving a U.S. visa and individuals can still obtain a U.S. visa under certain circumstances. In fact, those willing to enter the United States are able to put their desire into practice should they demonstrate that they are eligible for a waiver.

Under the Presidential Proclamation, a consular officer may, in his or her discretion, grant a waiver if a foreign national demonstrates to the consular officer’s satisfaction that: (A) denying entry would cause the foreign national undue hardship; (B) entry would not pose a threat to the national security or public safety of the United States; and (C) entry would be in the national interest of the United States. Hence, the satisfaction of the mentioned criteria paves the way for individuals’ entry to the United States while the reverse impedes the ability to obtain a U.S. visa.

Are you from any of the above countries?

If you have a scheduled visa interview or your case has been placed in administrative processing, I would be more than happy to prepare waivers on your behalf and make strong legal arguments in order to increase your chances of admission to the United States. Please do not hesitate to contact us at or +1-617-855-8769. 

Contact Us